Match Reports

Albion 0 Everton 1


Albion were narrowly beaten 1-0 by Everton at The Hawthorns on Thursday night.

Both sides had chances in a goalless first-half where each goalkeeper played a huge part.

But it was the Toffees who found a winner through Richarlison, cruelly denying the Baggies a share of the spoils that they perhaps deserved.

Sam Allardyce named an unchanged XI for the clash - and his side came flying out of the traps on a chilly evening in the West Midlands.

Jordan Pickford was twice called into action during the opening 15 minutes, first brilliantly parrying Mbaye Diagne’s header before comfortably stopping a low Matt Phillips effort.

And those two were threatening Everton’s goal again midway through the first-half, however Diagne couldn’t keep his volley down and Phillips saw his drive well blocked.

Albion were seeing less of the ball but still using set-pieces and counter attacks to cause problems. They did have to remain alert ahead of the interval, though, when a Darnell Furlong bravely deflected Richarlison’s whipped shot onto the roof of the net and Sam Johnstone was at his very best to stop Dominic Calvert-Lewin.

The break came and went, yet it was a similar story at the start of the second period - Albion creating numerous opportunities with Matheus Pereira, Diagne and Conor Gallagher all failing to convert decent chances.

And they were made to pay for those misses on 65 minutes. Substitute Gylfi Sigurdsson, who came on just seconds earlier, whipping a dangerous cross straight to Richarlison’s head, and the Brazilian making no mistake to nod Everton in front.

Allardyce brought on Hal Robson-Kanu and Robert Snodgrass as the Baggies changed shape and pushed for a leveller.

Albion thought it had come deep in to stoppage time when Diagne smashed home from close-range - only for the assistant referee’s flag, and a subsequent VAR check, to disallow it for offside and ensure Everton went home with all three points.


Albion: Johnstone, Furlong, O’Shea, Bartley, Townsend; Maitland-Niles, Yokuslu, Gallagher (Robson-Kanu 78); Pereira, Diagne, Phillips (Snodgrass 78).

Substitutes: Button, Ajayi, Peltier, Livermore, Sawyers, Robinson, Grant.