Match Reports

Albion v Ipswich Town match report

Albion were held to a 1-1 Sky Bet Championship draw against Ipswich Town at The Hawthorns.

Stefan Johansen's deflected free-kick, his maiden goal for the club, handed the Baggies the lead after just four minutes.

Yet Jon Nolan's 48th-minute header ensured the shares were spoiled and both sides claimed a point apiece.

Albion, who remain fourth in the table, will look to get back to winning ways at home to Swansea City on Wednesday night.

The Baggies showed five changes from last weekend's defeat at Leeds, Johansen, Kyle Bartley, Conor Townsend, Jacob Murphy and Matt Phillips coming into a new-look system.

And it was the hosts who made a dream early start when Johansen's 20-yard free-kick was deflected past a wrong-footed Bartosz Bialkowski.

The early goal did not dent Town's confidence as they attacked with intent, Collin Quaner going close while Luke Chambers fired off target.

Dwight Gayle sent a free-kick narrowly wide for the Baggies before Murphy was denied by Bialkowski's fingertip save.

Sam Johnstone made a super stop with his feet to deny Quaner just after the half-hour mark, with Gayle firing into the side-netting at the other end in response.

Bialkowski was twice called into action to make fine saves just before the break, denying Murphy at the end of a flowing Baggies move before keeping out Adarabioyo's header from the subsequent corner.

Gayle sent a free-kick narrowly off target after the restart yet the visitors were level within three second-half minutes, Nolan rising to head home James Bree's cross.

Gayle drilled over when well placed before Alan Judge sent a dipping long-range half-volley over the bar for the Tractor Boys.

Jonathan Leko replaced Phillips just after the hour mark, with Bialkowski and Johnstone making excellent saves to deny Gayle and half-time substitute Kayden Jackson respectively.

James Morrison was introduced for Johansen as the clash entered the final 20 minutes, captain Jake Livermore firing over from the edge of the penalty area.

Jackson was denied by another fine Johnstone save and, after Adarabioyo hobbled off to be replaced by Sam Field in the closing stages, the encounter finished honours even.

Albion: Johnstone, Dawson, Bartley, Adarabioyo (Field 86), Phillips (Leko 63), Livermore (c), Johansen (Morrison 71), Murphy, Townsend, Rodriguez, Gayle.

Subs: Bond, Brunt, Harper, Montero.

  • Home