Club News

Albion submit Prem squad list

All senior players currently at club will be eligible for top-flight duty

ALBION have confirmed the squad they are submitting to the Barclays Premier League for the 2013/14 season.

Under the rules which were introduced three seasons ago, clubs are allowed to name up to 25 'over-21' players.

At least eight of these must fit the league's criteria for 'home-grown' players - but Albion have 13 in this category.

Players not included in the final 25-man list are the likes of Matej Vydra, George Thorne, Saido Berahino, Cameron Gayle, Adil Nabi, Kemar Roofe and Liam O’Neil, who all remain eligible for Premier League duty as they were under the age of 21 on January 1.

Scott Allan, who is currently on a season-long loan at Blues, has not been included.

Due to the winter transfer window opening on January 1, a new squad list must be submitted at the beginning of February.

Albion’s Sporting & Technical Director (designate), Richard Garlick, said: “With the nine players we have signed this summer, we believe we have strengthened the areas of the squad that we targeted.

“The club has determined that running with a 22-man squad, augmented by the development squad, is the way forward.

“However, we have registered 25 senior players due to mitigating circumstances.

“We are carrying one extra goalkeeper as we needed cover following Ben Foster’s injury.

“In addition to the targeted 22, we have re-signed the experienced pairing of Steven Reid and Zoltan Gera.

“Both players, who have been great servants to the club, are recovering from injury at present but we hope they will make a valuable contribution when available.”


(HG denotes home-grown)

Morgan Amalfitano

Nicolas Anelka

Chris Brunt (HG) 

Lee Camp (HG)

Luke Daniels (HG) 

Craig Dawson (HG) 

Graham Dorrans 

Ben Foster (HG) 

Zoltan Gera 

Billy Jones (HG) 

Shane Long (HG) 

Diego Lugano

Gareth McAuley 

James Morrison (HG) 

Youssouf Mulumbu 

Boaz Myhill (HG) 

Jonas Olsson 

Goran Popov 

Steven Reid (HG) 

Liam Ridgewell (HG) 

Markus Rosenberg

Scott Sinclair (HG)

Claudio Yacob

Stephane Sessegnon

Victor Anichebe (HG)


(This list incorporates players with first-team squad numbers)

Saido Berahino 

Donervorn Daniels 

Cameron Gayle 

Adil Nabi 

Liam O’Neil 

Kemar Roofe 

George Thorne

Matej Vydra

Watch deadline-day signings Victor Anichebe, Morgan Amalfitano and Lee Camp training with their new team-mates: