Match Reports

Leicester City 2-1 Albion

Jed Wallace in action, in home colours.

Albion were beaten 2-1 by Leicester City in the Sky Bet Championship on Saturday afternoon.

The Foxes claimed all three points via Wilfred Ndidi’s first-half goal and a second period Jamie Vardy header at the King Power Stadium, despite Jed Wallace’s consolation.

Carlos Corberán’s men return to action next weekend with a trip to Sheffield Wednesday.

Mikey Johnston in action.

The visitors started brightly and created plenty of early opportunities. Within two minutes Okay Yokuslu fired over after being gifted possession inside the area - before Mikey Johnston saw a smart finish cleared off the line following excellent Jed Wallace play.

Johnston threatened twice more, seeing one shot saved and another go over, but it was actually down the other end where the scoring would begin. Alex Palmer pushed away Vardy’s initial flick, however Ndidi managed to lift a high finish home and give the table-toppers the lead.

Vardy had a chance to double their advantage ahead of half-time, too, winning a penalty and stepping up to take it, yet only striking the post.

Albion came back out strongly and nearly netted when Yann M’Vila had a low effort scrambled away and Diangana, twice, watched his rebounds blocked by the Leicester defence.

They went even closer moments later from the resulting corner, Bartley’s header hitting the crossbar. Diangana then tapped inches past the post in the midst of a superb attacking spell.

They were made to pay for those misses, though, with 25 minutes to go. Leicester doubled their tally as Vardy nodded in, making it 2-0.

Albion did manage to get one back after a sublime ball from Kipre found the skipper through on goal, who this time made no mistake to find the far corner and get the hosts sweating.

The Baggies piled on the pressure in hopes of finding a deserved leveller, with John Swift twice coming close to finding the back of the net, but the Foxes held out to claim a fortuitous victory.

Albion: Palmer; Furlong, Kipre, Yokuslu (Phillips 70), Bartley, Townsend; M’Vila (Swift 70), Mowatt (Chalobah 70); Diangana, Wallace (Maja 82), Johnston (Fellows 77).

Substitutes: Griffiths, Ajayi, Reach, Weimann.