Club News

Albion drawn against Villa in PLST

See which schools are set to represent Baggies at Anfield tournament

ALBION have been drawn against Villa, Manchester City, Newcastle United and Tottenham in Group B of the Premier League Schools Tournament (PLST) Finals at Anfield on Thursday, May 9.

A six-a-side qualifying tournament run by The Albion Foundation saw Ridgeway Middle School beat Hurst Green 4-2 on penalties in the final to earn the right to represent the Baggies in the under-11s mixed teams section.

Sandwell Academy will fly the flag for the club for the second successive season in the Under-13s girls section after beating Kingswinford School 3-2 in the final.

As well as playing in front of the famous Kop, the participating teams will get the Barclays Premier League experience as they walk out of the tunnel in club kit to the Barclays Premier League theme music before each match, with all games to be overseen by a Premier League official.

The Premier League Schools Tournament, which is in its eighth year, aims to increase participation and the numbers of teams and players has grown every season.

This year 1,050 schools and 8,500 young players have taken part.

Each of the 20 clubs stage their own competition to select a school to represent them in the finals.

Full draw for 2013 Premier League Schools Finals:

Group A

Group B

Group C

Group D


Tottenham Hotspur

Stoke City



Newcastle United




Aston Villa



Wigan Athletic

Manchester City

West Ham United


Swansea City


Norwich City

Manchester United


Disney XD’s weekly football programme, Goalmouth, which will be following the Premier League Schools Tournament. Goalmouth is shown on Disney XD at 5.30pm each Thursday.

Roll of honour:

Under-13 winners St Peter’s Catholic High School (Wigan Athletic)
Under-11 winners Corpus Christi Catholic Primary School (Fulham)
2012 Emirates Stadium

U13 Broughton Hall High School (Everton)
U11 Farnborough Road Junior School (Liverpool)
2011 Reebok Stadium

U13 South Hunsley School (Hull City)
U11 Oakthorpe Primary School (Tottenham Hotspur)
2010 Ewood Park

U13 Durham Johnston Lower School (Newcastle United)
U11 Dorridge Junior School (Aston Villa)
2009 Old Trafford

U13 Broughton Hall High School (Everton)
U11 Ipsley Middle School (Aston Villa)
2008 Madjeski Stadium

U13 St Joseph’s High School (Bolton Wanderers)
U11 St Jude’s C of E Primary (Portsmouth)
2007 Old Trafford

            U13 N/A
U11 Gomer Junior School from Gosport (Portsmouth)
2006 The Valley